Don’t give up dessert

Dessert is psychological for me. Stick it right in there with puppies and kittens, sunrises and sunsets, mountains and beaches, and there you have “a few of my favorite things” (I’m humming tunes fromĀ The Sound of MusicĀ now, thank you very much). One of the many reasons I’m doing this Paleo thing, however, is that I was ADDICTED to sugar, mainly in the form of chocolate candy, ice cream, brownies, cookies, pancakes…oh, the list goes on. All of these things taste(d) great and made me happy!

Here’s my advice if you ever go Paleo: Don’t deprive yourself. OK, yes, deprive yourself of fast food, processed snacks, sugary drinks, and whatever other less-than-quality edibles you think you need but really don’t. But don’t deprive yourself of the types of food you love — just modify them.

ImageTake dessert, for instance. Adopting a whole foods lifestyle doesn’t mean giving this up. One dessert I look forward to making (because it’s fun) and eating (because it’s yummy) is banana pudding with all natural ingredients. I’ve made this recipe twice now and can’t wait to make it again soon.

Free image courtesy of FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Leave a Reply

